How to improve the movie?

by Isadora Gabrielle Leidenfrost, the filmmaker of “Things We Don’t Talk About”

I have spent most of the month of January in the early stages of editing the film and having meetings with my advisers to get feedback. In late December, I completed what is known as a rough cut of the film. A rough cut is an outline of the film, where all of the interviews and sound bits are organized to create a visible story line. My rough cut was 4 hours long. Obviously too long! I then cut the film down to 2 hours by deleting scenes and condensing interviews that did not support the things we don’t talk about stories. Once I got the film down to 2hrs, I contacted my advisers and close friends to watch the film and give feedback on the direction that I was going. This took about 2 weeks. Each meeting lasted around 4 to 5 hours and there were 7 meetings in total. In between meetings, I made major structural and organizational changes to the narrative based on the feedback. Now that all of these meetings are over, the film is around 1 hour and 18 minutes, not including credits, which I have yet to make. All in all, I am very excited by the direction of the film and am amazed by how much the film has improved because of the feedback. I have always been a great advocate that getting advice and feedback, even sometimes negative feedback serves a purpose in my filmmaking and creative process. Over the years, I have developed some thick skin!

4 Comments

Filed under "things we don't talk about", red tent, red tent film, red tent movie, story

4 responses to “How to improve the movie?

  1. Liz

    It’s exciting that the editing process is progressing! Though honestly, I’d totally watch 4 hours of video footage shot for this film.🙂

    Like

  2. Sounds like a very long process, but I’m sure your labor of love will be well worth it!🙂

    Like

  3. Rubymoon

    Exciting times – hope you have support yourself, women who rub your back, listen to your story, complains and blissful moments🙂 Keep up, looking forward to the film.
    Rubymoon

    Like

  4. I think it would be beautiful to include some close-up images e.g. two women’s hands (e.g. an older hand and a younger one), a woman’s hand holding a flower, a smiling mouth, some textiles, a stone, a candle… Just an idea. It’s the detail women often notice – small gestures, a small object of beauty…

    Like

Leave a Reply

